This page describes the Anglican Church, aka the Church of England or the Episcopalian Church, which was one of the first protestant denominations
The beliefs and practice of the Lutheran Church are presented
This site is for learners who are looking for detailed information on the history of the canon, texts, and versions of Scripture.
The aim of this site is to offer the freshest and most compelling biblically-based content to Christians who take seriously their relationship with Christ
Catechims of the Catholic Church
The catechism of the Catholic church as presented by the Vatican
The Catholic Encyclopedia, as its name implies, proposes to give its readers full and authoritative information on the entire cycle of Catholic interests, action and doctrine.
The website reflects a conventional, moderate Christian faith. It does not endorse the views of any one denomination. If Christians take different views on a subject, all viewpoints are explained in an unbiased way.
This brief video provides a good overview of the origins and central beliefs of Christianity.
A project aimed at providing access to the entire 80,000 codices from the Middle Ages and Humanistic period held by the Vatican Library
Early Christian Writings is the most complete collection of Christian texts before the Council of Nicaea in 325 AD. The site provides translations and commentary for these sources, including the New Testament, Apocrypha, Gnostics, Church Fathers, and some non-Christian references.
Presenting materials from the Nag Hammadi Library, a collection of thirteen ancient books discovered in upper Egypt in 1945. This immensely important discovery includes a large number of primary "Gnostic Gospels" – texts once thought to have been entirely destroyed during the early Christian struggle to define "orthodoxy" – scriptures such as the Gospel of Thomas, the Gospel of Philip, and the Gospel of Truth.
A thousands years ago, the Christian Church split in two when their respective leaders excommunicated each other. While undoubtedly the most dramatic event of the relationship, history shows that this it was not, however, the beginning, nor the end of the events that led to the Great Schism.
A site by the Hutterian Brethren about their beliefs
What was the Great Schism in the Catholic faith? What happened in 1054 that changed everything?
Manifold Greatness: The Creation and Afterlife of the King James Bible
Through materials from the year 1000 to 2011, this site offers a "biography" of one of the world's most famous books, the King James Bible of 1611
The entry in the Britannica Encyclopedia about Martin Luther, an important figure in the creation of Protestant Church
A directory of academic internet resources on the New Testament, hosted by Logos Bible Software and edited by Mark Goodacre
This Synoptic Gospels Primer is designed for students in college level courses on the gospels or anyone else interested in the "Synoptic Problem."
UnderstandChristianity.com was developed and is maintained by an independent group of pastors who saw a need for simple, biblical explanations of Christian teachings and books of the Bible.
What Do I Need to Know about the Anglican Church?
This article describes the events that led to the formation of the Anglican Church in England.