For thorough research in psychology, it is important to consider databases in medicine, business, education, criminology, sociology, social work and publications in other relevant disciplines and professions..
Clever gives access to Databases which are online platforms that contain searchable resources such as journals, articles, ebooks, and data sets.
Use Clever to access the following Databases for your research.
Offers comprehensive sources of factual information through encyclopedias.
Search articles, books, journals & more.
Provides access to psychology academic journals and magazines. Content for both researchers and general users.
Provides eBook collections—from foundational classics to new topical titles.
Sleep and Dreams - American Academy of Sleep Medicine
What is REM Sleep? - National Sleep Foundation
Brain Basics: Understanding Sleep - National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke Experimental Research on Dreaming: State of the Art and Neuropsychoanalytic Perspectives - National Library of Medicine
The Health Benefits of Dreams - WEBMD
Nightmare Disorder - Patient Info
Should you keep a dream journal? - Patient Info
What does it mean when we dream? - Medical News Today
Do Dreams Actually Mean Anything? It Depends Who You Ask - Healthline
Dream Seminar
Find a scholarly article relating to the topic of sleep and/or dreams. Use the library database or google scholar to find an article. Please limit it to less than 6 pages.
Scholarly resources have the following features:
1. They are written by experts - look for an author's credentials or affiliations.
2. They are written for other experts or people in academia. Think of each scholarly work as a voice in an ongoing conversation to which you will add your voice when you write a paper.
3. They use scholarly language with technical, discipline specific vocabulary.
4. They provide verifiable and reliable evidence for claims. Even if the resource is a general history/overview it will contain well researched information that the reader can verify.
5. They may be peer reviewed. Many journals go through an editorial process where other experts review and assess the information.
How do you know if a journal is peer reviewed? Some databases will let you check a box to limit to peer reviewed articles. You can also look at the journal's website which will explain the editorial process including whether or not the journal is peer reviewed.
To do:
Prepare for our Socratic Seminar about Dreams by completing the Thoughts Questions Epiphanies (TQE). You will be sharing this tomorrow so come in with lots of thoughts, lingering questions, and your Aha! Moments!
|
Thoughts and connections (to the chapter and a specific dream theory) |
|
|
|
5 Questions that you want to ask the class |
|
|
|
Epiphanies about dreams/chapter/consciousness/sleep. What are your main takeaways after completing this assignment? *Epiphany- that Aha! Moment or something that changed your perspective |
|
|
BRITANNICA SCHOOL Database: How to add a source reference.
On EBSCO interfaces, when you are viewing an article detail, you can see how the citation for that article should be formatted in a variety of popular citation formats, including MLA, APA, etc.
There are many styles and forms used to cite the sources supporting your research. When using the EBSCO citation tool, please make any necessary corrections before using the citations. Data used to cite electronic sources is not yet standardized; therefore, researchers should review citations carefully. Pay special attention to personal names, capitalization, and dates. Double check your library resources for the exact formatting and punctuation guidelines.
To view citation formats for an article:
Run a search on EBSCO and view a search result.
From the Detailed Record, click the Cite icon.
Ask questions for more clarification on the citation style and formatting you should use. Students are encouraged to check with their teachers for the project's citation requirements.
For more detailed information, see the links below to view citation formatting and examples for the various citation styles listed:
Whatever style you choose, accuracy, clarity, and consistency are the most important factors when citing information sources.
Gale Database Citation
MLA
Every Gale article has a citation available. Look in the upper right corner of the article page and select Cite, MLA will come up by default.
Change It Tips
After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent.
Make it double spaced.
Change the font to Times New Roman 12.
It Should Look Like
Berman, Lauren. “Dragons and Serpents in J.K.
Rowling's Harry Potter Series: Are They Evil?”
Mythlore, vol. 27, no. 1-2, 2008, p. 45. Gale,
go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=gale|a188065412
&v=2.1&u =txshracd2496&it=r&p=gls&sw=
w&asid=cbf27d207f8181c5cbcfb291b5464c27.
