- Midlakes Online Databases
Databases include full-text and abstracts of scholarly, trade, and general-interest periodicals covering topics in the areas of current events, general sciences, literature and technology, ... Provides online access to a fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars.
BRITANNICA SCHOOL
GALE DATABASES & EBOOK RESOURCES (GALEPAGES)
EBSCO DATABASE COLLECTIONS
NEWSPAPER SOURCE
Primary Sources Resources from the Web:
The Gold Road: From Howard University. Includes great visuals and mapping at the core of the display.
Kingdom of Mali Primary Sources: The following description of the visit to Cairo in 1324 by the King of Mali, Mansa Musa, was written by Al-Umari, who visited Cairo several years after the Mansa Musa’s visit.
The Travels of Ibn Battuta: From UC Berkeley. this site highlights the regions of travel Batutta visited, and within each section there are primary source excerpts; there is a section about East Africa as well as the Kingdom of Mali.
Kingdom of Ghana Primary Sources: Writing of Al-Bakri, a member of a prominent Spanish Arab family who lived during the 11th century. A Muslim geographer, he lived most of his life in Cordova and Almeria, and never left Islamic Spain. He wrote about the Sahara after gathering information from merchants and other visitors.
Travels of Ibn Battuta: from the Fordham University Medieval History Sourcebook. Scroll to find mentions of Mali and West Africa, East Africa, etc.
