LibGuides: Industrial Revolution Dear Diary Research Project: Home

Databases

Midlakes MS/HS Databases
Students can quickly find content to complete research projects and other class assignments by using our databases.
BRITANNICA SCHOOL
Britannica Online School Edition gives teachers and students instant access to four complete encyclopedias and other resources that ensure consistency with classroom topics and age-appropriate language. This unique reference and learning suite also offers high-quality online learning materials that have been developed by teachers and curriculum experts. Designed for all levels of learning from elementary school through high school, Britannica Online School Edition offers students an easy-to-use gateway to the vast resources of Encyclopædia Britannica.
World Book
Integrated primary and secondary source databases plus ebooks in a single search. Because analysis of primary source documents is an essential skill for students, World Book Advanced offers ten of thousands of documents.
Research in Context
Provides engaging reference, periodical, and multimedia content in language arts, social studies, and science.

Websites

Complete Chronology of the Industrial Revolution
In our modern world, we make daily use of the products of an industrialized era. These products include a wide variety of goods manufactured for our consumption. It has not always been like this. There was a time when almost all products were hand-made and the factory system did not exist. The transition from a world of artisan manufacture to a factory system, and all its attendant benefits with which we are familiar, is known as the Industrial Revolution. It began in Britain in the early years of the 18th century.
Internet Modern History Sourcebook (Fordham University)
Check side frame for links to French Revolution, Industrial Revolution, Romanticism, Conservative Order, Nationalism, Liberalism, 1848, 19c Britain (and other countries), Socialism, Imperialism, World War I, Fascism, Nazism, Holocaust, World War II, Western Europe Since 1945, Eastern Europe Since 1945, etc.
Library of Economics and Liberty
The Library of Economics and Liberty is dedicated to advancing the study of economics, markets, and liberty. It offers a unique combination of resources for students, teachers, researchers, and aficionados of economic thought.
Overview of the British Industrail Revolution
Addresses the most important of the changes that brought about the Industrial Revolution; the invention of machines to do the work of hand tools; the use of steam, and later of other kinds of power, in place of the muscles of human beings and of animals; and the adoption of the factory system.
The British Library Online Gallery
The British Library website offers virtual exhibits and digitized artifacts that highlight some of the Library's world-renowned collections. The Online Gallery has an interesting exhibit, Early Photographically Illustrated Books, which has 1,500 original illustrations from the Victorian period. In addition to browsing collections, temporary exhibits, and themed tours, users may conduct user-friendly searches to find documents or images for any number of potential classroom uses.
EH.net
The Economic History Association was founded in 1940. Its purpose is to encourage and promote teaching, research, and publication on every phase of economic history, broadly defined, and to encourage and assist in the preservation and administration of the materials for research in economic history.
The Victorian Web
One of the oldest academic and scholarly websites. Information is collected from books, paintings, political events, in multiple contexts. Multiple points of view and debate are encouraged.

Dear Diary

Dear Diary

AP World

Industrial Revolution in Europe (1750 - 1900)

What an exciting time to be alive! The Industrial Revolution forever changed the way we live. The lives of the people in Europe during the early part of the Industrial Revolution were profoundly affected by the beginnings of industrialization. The purpose of this diary project is to have you describe how these people perceived the changes around them.

The Task:

1. Decide who you want to be! You can be a factory worker, factory manager, child laborer, factory owner,mouse on the floor, etc... (be creative!!!)

2. Write at least 10 (half page) diary entries that describe your day to day life. The entries must reflect your day to day life. The entries must reflect an accurate recognition of the life and times of the Industrial Revolution.

3. Topics you must write about include but are not limited to competing economic systems, food, working conditions, societal changes, industrial technologies, labor reforms, and the emergence of public education.

4. Be authentic in reproducing an older looking project. The project should be typed or very neatly hand written.

5. You must use at least 5 sources...parenthetical documentation is NOT required. An Annotated Bibliography is mandatory.