The sixteenth century in Europe was a time of unprecedented change. It was the beginning of the modern era, and saw a revolution in every aspect of life.
Elizabethan Era England Life: History & Facts
Renaissance era was a golden period in British timeline. Information about Famous Explorers, Pirates, Shakespeare.
The Royal Encyclopedia: Elizabeth
The Royal Encyclopedia: Henry VIII
The Royal Encyclopedia: Mary, Queen of Scots
From the official Web site of the British monarchy. This is an excellently presented resource on the kings and queens of Britain, Scotland, and the UK from the original Anglo-Saxon kings to present day.
HathiTrust Digital Library is a large-scale collaborative repository of digital content from research libraries including content digitized via Google Books and the Internet Archive digitization initiatives, as well as content digitized locally by libraries.
Using websites found on search engines such as Google? Evaluate your findings for Authority, Currency, Objectivity, Coverage and Accuracy.
Authority
Currency
Objectivity
Coverage
Accuracy
In any academic writing, you are required to identify for your reader which ideas, facts, theories, concepts, etc., are yours and which are derived from the research and thoughts of others. Whether you summarize, paraphrase, or use direct quotes, if it's not your original idea, the source must be acknowledged. The only possible exception to this rule is information that is considered to be a commonly known fact [e.g., George Washington was the first president of the United States]. Appreciate, however, that any "commonly known fact" is culturally constructed and shaped by social and aesthetical biases. If you are in doubt about whether a fact is common knowledge or not, protect yourself from an allegation of plagiarism and provide a supporting citation, or ask your professor for clarification.
The links below lead to systems where you can type in your information and have a citation compiled for you. Note that these are not foolproof systems so it is important that you verify that the citation is correct and check your spelling, capitalization, etc. However, they can be useful in creating basic types of citations, particularly for online sources.
NOTE: Many companies that create the research databases the Midlakes Libraries subscribe to, such as Gale Cengage , include built-in citation generators that help take the guesswork out of how to properly cite a work. When available, you should utilize these features because they not only generate a citation to the source [e.g., a journal article], but include information about where you accessed the source [e.g., the database].